REVIEW & EXCERPT: Teach Me Something by Aubrey Bondurant

Every reader will tell you that there are some authors that they can’t get enough of and whose words, stories and characters captivate them each and every time. That is Aubrey Bondurant to me. And Teach Me Something is a shining example of why I love her books so much.

Catherine is down on her self esteem after a particularly bitter divorce. Wanting her sexual, dating and relationship mojo back, she enlists the help of an expert through a sex club. Determined to master the art of dating, what she doesn’t expect is the easy chemistry with her instructor as she learns the finer art of captivating a man.

As an instructor at a sex club, Calvin’s speciality is to help women with the ins and outs of successful dating and attracting the opposite sex. With an abundance of confidence he takes on Catherine as a client to guide her. But Calvin has a secret that he might not be able to keep. And while he has a strict no sex policy with his clients, can he resist Catherine when it all comes to light?

By far though, these two are my absolute fave. I know I said it about Bet Me Something but I think Aubrey hit a new level with this one. I loved that she gave us a highly successful women in her 30’s – who is so very relatible in her struggles. And a man that is up to the challenge of being with such a women without sacrificing on his alphaness or feeling inadequate.

But I don’t want to give too much away, because Calvin is best experienced through self discovery (and yes I completely meant that in a dirty way too).

And let me tell you, Aubrey does sexy so well. I will be honest and say that there is some sizzling hot sex scenes in this book, because let’s be real this is a story about a women in her 30’s getting her mojo back! But in every instance it built on the storyline. And did I say mother of holy dirty talkers? When Calvin opened his mouth to seduce Catherine, let’s just say that you may need spare underwear.

I have a question thought – Can I adopt Catherine’s mum? Jeez Aubrey is great at injecting humor into her books in the most natural of ways that provides much needed relief to counteract the sizzling tension.

But what I want to say the most to readers about Bondurant’s books and writing style is that she always gives us a love story that is so real. The emotions are genuine and the characters have quirks. And falling in love is always, always at the heart of every story. Her writing captivates me every single time and I fall in love with her characters without fail.

While Teach Me Something is part of the Something series, these books can standalone. There are cameo appearances of the other characters but they are very minor to the storyline.

This book has everything for a romance reader – love, laughter, tension, friendship and sizzling, hot sex. There is the no holds barred alpha and her signature sassy and smart heroine. Bring on Mark’s book! A top recommendation from me.

5 hearts

amazon-logo_black

teach-me-something-teaser-1

Blurb

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Series: Something Series, Book 4 (interconnected standalones)

Life is short, and sometimes you have to take chances…

Catherine Davenport is successful in her career, but doesn’t have the same skill when it comes to her love life. After a painful divorce, she’s finding the new world of dating both intimidating and frustrating.

Tired of striking out, she takes the extreme measure of enlisting the help of an instructor in a private club who offers sessions on how to improve her dating strategy as well as her overall sexual confidence.

‘Calvin’, the masked man with the piercing blue eyes and husky voice not only challenges her to step out of her comfort zone, but encourages her to unlock her repressed adventurous side with various lessons.

She feels like she’s making progress until her worlds collide and the identity of the man privy to her most intimate details is shockingly revealed as someone she knows.

Can Catherine put her insecurities aside to take a chance on love where she least expected it? Or will her past interfere with her ability to plan a future with the one man who truly knows the real her.

Full Length Standalone book with no cliffhanger. Fourth book of the “Something Series”
Recommended for mature readers due to situations of language, and sexual content.

5affe-goodreads

teach-me-something-teaser-2

Excerpt

Surprisingly, he stayed with me at the table after she left, waiting for me to finish up my last glass of wine. “Has Kenzie been helping you all weekend with the texting?”

“Only tonight. But Haylee and Sasha assisted yesterday. Someday I’ll get the hang of it on my own.” I laughed but realized his eyes had narrowed. Had I said something to offend him?

“Don’t you feel like he may be getting someone who isn’t really you?”

“Uh, he’s getting me, just a flirtier version who’s more fun. Does it really matter?” I found it odd that he cared.

He sighed. “I guess not. I think I’m calling it a night. Are you on the eight o’clock flight tomorrow morning to New York?”

Haylee had offered me the opportunity to travel back with her family on the private jet in the late afternoon, but I’d wanted to get an early start on my return, so I’d opted for commercial. “I am. We could share a car to the airport if you’d like?” I downed the rest of my wine, thinking it was about time to get up to my own room, pack, and call it a night.

“Yeah, that sounds good.” He stood up and walked with me to the elevator where he pressed the button for our floor—we were all on the same one.

Since Calvin wasn’t actually someone I was seeing, I decided to ignore Kenzie’s advice about sending another text and typed out one last message to him.

“Good night. See you on Tuesday.”

He watched me curiously and then physically winced when his phone chirped in his pocket, indicating an incoming text.

“Weird timing,” I muttered. My eyes traveled to his strong hands and forearms, a sight that I’d memorized during my meetings with Calvin. Snapping my eyes to the uncannily familiar blue ones, I observed the deep red he was turning and fought my panic.

It couldn’t be.

One way to find out. I hit the call button and listened to the ringtone of his phone immediately come to life.

….. was Calvin.

Calvin was ……

Oh, God. The air seemed to be evaporating from the small space in the elevator, and I suddenly couldn’t breathe.

“How long?” I barely got out, feeling my face hot with humiliation.

He knew what I was asking and didn’t bother to deny anything, instead looking me straight in the eyes. “Only since you texted me the picture of your martini glass earlier, but it’s not a big deal, really.”

“Not a big deal?” I could feel my voice rising. Since the elevator was dinging on our floor, I lowered it, afraid I’d be overheard. “I gave you a list, and we talked about—” I couldn’t begin to go there in my head. The things I’d discussed with Calvin—

Other Books In Series

Tell Me Something_new  Ask Me Something by Aubrey Bondurant  Bet Me Something Banner

About Aubrey Bondurant

Aubrey Bondurant is a working mom who loves to write, read and travel.

She describes her writing style as: “Adult Contemporary Erotic Romantic Comedy”. (How’s that for a mouthful?) Picture chick-lit with the sex scenes or “smutty chick lit” and there you have it!

When Aubrey isn’t working her day job, or spending time with her family, she’s on her laptop typing away on her next story. She only wishes there were more hours of the day!

She’s a former member of the U.S. Marine Corps and passionate about veteran charities and giving back to the community. She loves a big drooly dog, a fantastic margarita, and football.

Website: http://www.aubreybondurant.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/aubreybondurantauthor

Twitter: @AubreyBondurant

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14135332.Aubrey_Bondurant

Newsletter sign up for new releases: http://eepurl.com/brpchP

 

Leave a Reply

