REVIEW: Destroy by Nikki Sloane

Destroy Banner

There are a few authors that I never hesitate to read when they have a new release. Nikki Sloane is pretty high up on that list. So I can honestly say that I don’t really pay much attention to what it is they are releasing, I just jump in with both feet first. So to say that I was elated that this little novella was a dip into the ocean that is the Drazen world – brought to life by none other than the fabulous CD Reiss in her submission series, is a complete understatement. Destroy is part of what is known as Kindle Worlds, which is essentially published fan-fiction. And to say I am in love with this cover is an understatement.

Destroy takes readers into the mind and life of the (ex-)villainous character Jessica – Jonathan’s ex-wife. This is a very short read so I don’t want to give away too much of the plot but this story in a nutshell is of her meeting Alex, another artist and their journey of becoming lovers.

This is not a light-hearted romance, but rather an enemies to lovers’ tale. And while I would say that this book edges on the border of being a dark romance, it is definitely brutal in its storyline rather than being wrapped in a shiny bow.

I have loved Nikki’s last two forays into the darker side of romance. What she does exceptionally well is build the emotion behind the characters that then fuel every action that they take. She delivers readers a story that catapults readers into the thick of it. Love it.

This novella also delivered all the trademark Nikki Sloane down and dirty that I have come to expect. Nikki is an expert at setting the pace, scene and heat. I am always left both satisfied and craving more relief.

Be warned, that this is a short novella (I do mean you can read it over a lunch break), so does not have indepth character development, drawn out tension nor extensive backstories for what motivates the characters to act and react the way that they do. Rather it is a glimpse into their lives at a very definite and defining time. What it does do, is highlight the ways in which Nikki Sloane can weave a story out of everything. She is always a highly recommended read.

4 hearts

amazon-logo_black

Destroy Teaser 1

About The Book

Title: Destory

Author: Nikki Sloane

Series: A Drazen World (Kindle World Novella)

Genre: Erotica

Heat Level: Explicit

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/31177472-destroy

Blurb: My entire life fell apart once. It took everything I had to pull it back together, and drag the Jessica Carnes name out of the gutter.

And now he threatens to destroy all I’ve worked for—my sculpture, my rebuilt reputation, and my life. All I have is my art, and I’ll do anything to save it from his predatory hands.

Even if it means offering myself instead.

Destroy Teaser 3

About The Author

Nikki Sloane landed in graphic design after her careers as a waitress, a screenwriter, and a ballroom dance instructor fell through. For eight years she worked for a design firm in that extremely tall, black, and tiered building in Chicago that went through an unfortunate name change during her time there. Now she lives in Kentucky and manages a team of graphic artists. She is a member of the Romance Writers of America, is married with two sons, writes dirty books, and couldn’t be any happier.

Facebook | Website | Twitter | Amazon | Goodreads

Leave a Reply

