REVIEW: Fall Back Skyward by Autumn Grey

Fall Back Skyward

If you are looking for a book that draws you in within 10 pages, cracks your chest wide open and promises a love that is so honest…… then you really, really need to read this book.

Fall Back Skyward is a tantalizing tale of mistakes, redemption, protection, second chances and a love story so strong that your pulse takes flight. But it is the bone deep connection between Cole & Nor that breathes life into this book while leaving you panting for more. This book makes you really think about what you would do for the one that you love!

The best way to describe this book is that it clearly demonstrates the consequences of love. Not all pretty and wrapped in a bow, but the real nitty gritty emotion that can overtake your life, influence decisions and the fallout when your love is not enough. Fall Back Skyward is an emotional, angst filled read that rips into your soul, makes you bleed for the characters and then puts you back together again. Autumn Grey takes you on a journey like no other where her words get imprinted on your emotions and draws them to the surface until you feel you are going to crack. To give you a real feel for this book, I think that Josh Holloway (Cole’s brother) says it best:
“What Nor and I did to him is unforgivable. I’m not sure we had a choice in the matter though. Sometimes we make the hardest of choices, hoping one day we will be granted forgiveness.”

Cole Holloway is the kind of alpha that every woman dreams of finding in this lifetime. Loving without reserve and fiercely protective. That is not to say that he does not make any mistakes along the way – actually this is so far from the truth. But can you really fault a man that kicks into self preservation when it feels like his entire world is crashing around him? Yet, when the chips are down, you can be assured that he is the man that he is destined to be deep down. He is the eye of the storm and the calm after it to Eleanor’s soul. And there is no mistaking that he loves his woman with all that he is – mind, heart and especially soul. His quiet determination sets the tone for much of this book. He is a character that will wrap around readers hearts and not easily be forgotten.

I am going to admit that I just from the blurb I had a preconceived notion that I would not like nor would I be able to sympathise with Eleanor (Nor) at all in this book. But man did Autumn do any amazing job at turning these notions on their head and giving me a character that is not only relatable but one that is strong, sensitive and has a heart of gold. What I really loved about the portrayal of Nor, is that while she fights so that her demons do not consume her, she is able to draw an immense amount of strength and open her heart fully to Cole. Again, I am not going to say that she didn’t make mistakes, but the intention of those actions were never harm or destruction for the sake of drama. And it takes some powerful words from an author to turn a character in the readers mind and without a doubt Autumn nailed it.

The current of chemistry between this pair was electric. From the moment they laid eyes on each other it was a slow build up that ignited into an immense burn. When these two came together it was HOT. Sex was not used as a filler in this book, but rather as a means to demonstrate the ultimate connection between this pair. Autumn can pen these scenes so that you can literally feel the heat.

I do want to make mention that I absolutely fell in love with ALL of the side characters in this book. Their journey underpinned a great deal of this storyline and it is through their love, sacrifice and unwavering support that Cole & Nor get their chance. Each one brings something to the storyline and it would not have been half of the story without them.

Yet despite all of this, it is actually the way that Autumn builds this story that captured me as a reader. Her words built the anticipation, made me feel the emotion and never, ever made me feel like the story was lagging. Her talent for telling a story and having the reader experience it, absolutely blew me away.

At times, I really thought this book was out to break me completely BUT as I read on what I discovered was that Autumn was really showing me how an EPIC love can’t be broken and really does heal all. There were moments that I didn’t think that I could handle any more, but never did I think that this book was over the top. Lover of romance that make you feel, we LOVE this book. I cannot recommend this one enough. While I was a fan before I read this book, FBS has cemented Autumn Grey on my favorite author list. I can’t wait to see what she does next!

5 hearts

amazon-logo_black

About The Book

Fall Back Skywards Cover Title: Fall Back Skyward

Author: Autumn Grey

Series: Fall Back, Book 1

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Heat Level: Hot

Add to Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25277085-fall-back-skyward

Blurb: Eleven years ago, I saved her. I loved her. But they took me away from her and locked me up. For two years, all I could think about was her. She consumed me. Took up every room in my head and gave me something to focus on, knowing I would see her soon.

Nine years ago, I watched her as she walked down the aisle and into the arms of a man who wasn’t me. My brother. I left my home and never looked back.

Now, I’m staring at seven letters, each envelope stamped with one word in bold, red ink: URGENT.

I have no choice but to go back home. Seeing her will be the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do. But in order to reconcile with my past, I have to face my present. Even if the thought of seeing her, knowing that she is out of my reach, kills me.

I have no idea what awaits me, but I can only hope that the demons of my past will finally be buried and put to rest.

**Due to possible triggering descriptions of self-harm, and some sexual situations this book is not recommended for anyone under the age of 17 years old**

Excerpt from Book

He grabs the pen and notebook on the desk and scribbles something on it. Then flips it around and slides it toward me.

You’re a terrible signer.

My face heats up. I look up at him. He’s smiling now. Grinning, actually. It’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen.

He pulls the notebook back, writes on it again, before pushing it back to me.

Use your mouth and speak slowly. I love to watch you while you speak.

Holy hell!

“You do?” Those are the only words capable of leaving my mouth. My brain cells. . . gone. Poof!

He nods, his gaze still fixed on my mouth. I lick my lips. The courage that acted as fuel when I walked in a few minutes ago has vanished after his words that are now causing chaos in me.

He scrawls on the book, Something got your tongue?

“More like Cole got my tongue,” I mutter under my breath. The boy with freckles on his face sitting two feet away from us snickers.

Shit. I didn’t mean to say that out loud.

Something brushes against my knee under the table. I jolt upright as the impact of it rushes through me.

Oh God, his knee is touching mine. Maybe it was accidental?

Yeah, right. I’ve known Cole for a few days now. Nothing about his actions are accidental or innocent. They are measured. Deliberate. Precise.

He applies pressure where our bodies touch. I’m no longer Eleanor. I’m a girl who’s hanging on by a thread, waiting to burst into flames. No other part of his body has ever touched mine other than the pinkie finger. The movement stops, and air finally finds its way to my lungs. I should move my leg, put a stop to this torture. But I can’t. There’s a force that tethers my body to his. I want to find out more about it because. . .I just need to.

Period.

Time to regroup. Why was I here again?

“Why do you come to my rooftop every night?”

His gaze leaves my mouth and fixes on my eyes.

He scribbles on the notebook. Do you want me to stop?

The thought of not having Cole’s body next to mine at ten o’clock every night makes my chest twist in pain. But I need to know.

“Why do you come to my rooftop every night?”

I don’t like to watch the stars alone, he writes, and then cocks one thick brow at me.

I don’t buy that excuse. I know he comes to my roof every night for more than just watching the stars. I want him to admit it.

I lean closer. His scent slams into me and I have to fight hard not to climb over the table and wrap myself around him for eternity. The muscles on his forearm tense as he grabs the beanie with his free hand from the table. He clenches it in his fist as though holding onto the hat gives him something to keep himself from drowning in the tension surrounding us. I know this because that’s what I’m feeling right now, like I’m being pulled towards something I’ve never felt before. Something indescribable. Something phenomenal.

His Adam’s apple bobs up and down. Do I make him nervous? Or Is there something else going on behind those stormy gray eyes?

I push my chin forward, aiming to goad him further. “Why do you come to my rooftop every night?”

He stares at me for a long time, more than it’s legally allowed for a person to look at another.

He closes his eyes and exhales shakily as though he’s forcing air out of his lungs. They open slowly and he looks down at the notepad. The grip on the pencil is tight, he might snap it any minute now. He lets go of the beanie and runs his fingers down his hair before hunching down and writes quickly. Once he’s done, he slides the notebook in my direction and then leans back in his chair, staring at me.

My heart’s beating out of my chest as I drop my eyes from his and to the words written in a careless scrawl.

Can I let you in on a little secret? 😉 I’ve imagined for a while now how your mouth would feel pressed against mine. That bottom lip between my teeth. I’ve wondered if you’d sigh if I kiss you, the way you do when you look at the stars. Or the way you moan while sucking on a lemon drop. I’ve fantasized about so many things about you, but most of all, I’ve wondered what you taste like.

Holy hell! How am I even sitting down?

About The Author

Autumn Grey is the author of the Havoc series. And just like her characters, she is quirky, sometimes funny and definitely flawed. She writes sexy contemporary romances full of drama, steamy kisses and happy ever afters.

Facebook  Pinterest  Twitter  Twitter  Instagram

Leave a Reply

