REVIEW: Explicit by Roxy Sloane

Explicit Banner

Arrogant Male, Sassy Female & Explosive, Steamy Heat

There is no denying that this is one hot and steamy read. After seeing this author recommended many times by several authors and bloggers that I follow, I decided that this book would be my first foray into the literary mind of Roxy Sloane. What was delivered in this book was a pair of characters that you couldn’t help but be charmed by, a storyline that drew me in and writing that kept the pages turning.

Ellie is the kinda female lead that I love. She was sassy, no bullshit and a heart that was pure gold. And while she was determined, she was never overwhelming or over the top. It is a fine line to tread and it was done superbly. And really, as a book lover, it was awesome to read about an editor who’s passion is so aligned. There were moments where I really felt everything that she was going through and empathised with her situation.

Can anyone say temperamental? Well, that is Jackson in a nutshell. He is hard, he’s soft, he’s angry, he’s loving, he’s turned on, he’s pushing, he’s pulling. But really beneath all that contradiction is a man that is a product of past hurts and trying to protect himself from history repeating. But there is no denying that once you are in his gravitational pull it is hard to escape – despite what he does.

I knew that this author had me from the moment I read that phone call between Jackson and Ellie.
This was no ordinary introduction between the two but one that would setup the explosive dynamic of this pair both inside and outside of the bedroom. It was evident to me that I would enjoy the push and pull of the rising tension.

So this book included some really hot sex. Roxy Sloane does not shy away from delivering a scene that will work you up and turn you out.

So this is where I share that I really, really wanted to LOVE this book and for ¾ of this book it was a 5 star read for me. But what let it down for me and knocked a star off its rating was the way that I felt the ending was rushed. Roxy had done an amazing job of building up the story between these two that when it came to the end, it was all over and done with within a chapter. I would have liked just a teensy bit more – but again that’s just me and my opinion. It may have no bearing on other readers.

If you are looking for a romance that packs a punch, turns you on and makes you not want to put it down until it ends, then Roxy Sloane is your gal and this book is for you. Smutty romance readers will not be disappointed.

4 hearts

amazon-logo_black

Explicit Teaser 1

About The Book

Explicit Title: Explicit

Author: Roxy Sloane

Genre: Contemporary Erotica Romance

Heat Level: Off The Charts

Add to Goodreads

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28506615-explicit

Purchase: Amazon  ~  iBooks

Blurb: “I’ve told you I’ve fantasized about you. So, tell me the truth. Do you fantasize about me?”

Bestselling novelist Jackson Ford is arrogant, exacting, and relentless on the page and off. His irresistible new editor, Ellie Parker is smart, headstrong, and not intimidated by Jackson’s attitude – or the way he turns every exchange into a filthy seduction.

There isn’t a thing these two can agree on, except their intense attraction. But with Jackson’s deadline looming, can they stop fighting long enough for him to deliver the hit she needs?

The relationship between editor and author has never been so intimate or so explicit…

Explicit Teaser 2

About The Author

Roxy Sloane is a romance junkie with a dirty mind. She lives in Los Angeles with her hot ex-military hubby and her two kids. She loves writing sexy, complex stories about pushing the boundaries and risking it all.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/roxysloaneauthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Roxy_Sloane

Newletter: http://eepurl.com/S-rWz

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8178850.Roxy_Sloane

Leave a Reply

