WEEKLY WRAP-UP: 13 March 2016

Unlike last week, this was actually a relatively quiet reading and one-clicking week for me. So much is going on in real life that I wasn’t able to dedicate as much time to reading and scrolling Amazon & FB for books that tickled my fancy.

My one-clicking this week was for an author that is an auto one-click for me and a book that was recommended by a few authors I follow on FB and piqued my interest.

This week’s reading included a book from last week’s one-click bonanza, an ARC for a book that I have been so excited to read the conclusion of and the novella I purchased from one-clicking. 

I have broken this post into two sections:

What I One-Clicked This Week (at the top)

  • Raging Kane by CM Steele; and
  • Tackled by Sabrina Paige

What I Read This Week (scroll down the page)

  • Taken by Two by Sam JD Hunt (Erotica);
  • Wicked Dix by Monica James (Contemporary Romance); and
  • Raging Kane by CM Steele (Erotic Paranormal).

One Click 13 March

This week’s one-clicking was in direct contrast to last week. In fact, I only added 2 new books to mt TBR. That is by no means a reflection on the quality of books released this week, but rather than my browsing time was severely limited.

Tackled by Sabrina Paige

So I will be honest, Sabrina Paige is not an author that is really on my radar. But this week she released her newest book – Tackled. This popped up on my feed several times as it was recommended by a number of authors that I follow. What has me one-clicking this book was the premise – I am a sucker for college football hero and “nerdy” girl. Some of my favorite books have this theme and there is also no denying that the cover is HOT as well.

TackledBlurb

College football’s most notorious tight end wants to show her that everything’s bigger in Texas.

Cassie

I can’t stand jocks. And I don’t know the first thing about football.

So it’s just my luck that the tutoring job I take to get me through graduate school involves making sure a dumb jock passes his classes.

Now, I’m babysitting Colton King, a spoiled arrogant player who’s as famous for his bedroom antics as he is for his football skills.

The tight end with the filthy mouth tells me he’ll show me that everything’s bigger in Texas.

And heaven help me, I just might be considering it.

* * *

Colton

My life is one big party, and that’s never going to change.

Not even if my coach finds me a nerdy tutor he thinks will keep me in line.

Miss Goody Two Shoes is uptight, high-strung, and unimpressed by the fact that I’m a campus legend.

Even worse, the hot little tutor is as pure as the driven snow.

Debauching her and making her mine is the ultimate challenge. And I always rise to the occasion.

*This is not a football-heavy story, so if you’re not into sports, don’t worry! It’s light on the sports and heavy on the steam!*

amazon-logo_black

Raging Kane by CM Steele

CM Steele is one of my auto one-click authors. So it was just because she released a book that I was one-clicking. CM Steele gives readers novella length books that are heavy on the instalove, smut and possessive alpha and light on the length and indepth, heart-wrenching storyline. But she delivers what she sets out to everytime.


Raging KaneBlurb

“I hate you!” she shouted every night in Kane Holt’s dreams. His reaction was the same, shifting into his wolf, raging with pain and confusion. He had no idea who this woman was and why she hated him. All he knew was that he needed her and would do anything to find her.
Months of dreaming and nothing changed. He was at his limit. How was he supposed to find her when he couldn’t make it past the pain? Sleepless nights were never ending and effecting his every day responsibilities. With a simple and inconsequential decision to visit friends changed everything. On a big TV there was his mate, the lovely Miss Denney. He ran to Hollywood in search of his other half and nothing was going to stop him.
Would he get her to change his mind or would she still tell him to leave?

amazon-logo_black

One Click 13 March

 

So this week’s reading did include an ARC for a series that I was dying to read the conclusion of, a book from last week’s one-clicking and this week’s auto-buy author.

Compared to many other week’s of reading, this was a relatively slow week – only getting through 3 books BUT you know…life…..

I have to say that it was a mixed bag for me.


Wicked Dix by Monica James

Wicked DixThis book was this week’s ARC read for me. I am not going to say too much about this book here as I will be posting a full review on release day, March 24.

What I will say is that this book is a sequel to Dirty Dix (formally known as Addicted to Sin) which is available now.

I will also say that I LOVED this book. The writing is superb and Monica James does an amazing job of drawing the reader through the turmoil of this storyline. So many times real life dragged me away from this book and I was desperate each time to get back and find out what Dixon was going to do next. The tension built and built until eruption and there was no escape for anyone.

Check back on the blog on March 24 for my full review

Preorder now → http://amzn.to/1Upul7w

 


Taken by Two by Sam JD Hunt

Taken By TwoMan, I really, really wanted to love this book. And unfortunately it turned out to be just ok. Last week when I read the premise and one-clicked I was so drawn into what I hoped it would deliver that I bumped it up my TBR to be the first book off the rank.

I will say that the premise and storyline where still good and that with a bit of different delivery I would have loved this book a lot more.

The main reason that I struggled with the enjoyability of this book was the changing of dialogue all within the one paragraph. Many times it made me have to re-read sections so that I could understand who was “now” talking. It was because of this constant to and fro that at times I felt the story was a bit sluggish as it took me out of the “flow” of the storyline.

My other irritation with this storyline was the was that Penelope “gave in” so quickly to the situation of being kidnapped and jumped into bed with one of the perpetrators. I guess this had a lot to do with my expectations for a bit more tension than the author not delivering. For real, this point is more about me than the book.

There were elements that I did like. I am a big fan of self discovery through a loving environment. So  I really enjoyed the way that these 3 damaged characters where able to heal and move on to together.

The element of suspense in this book was intriguing as well. Hunt did a great job of setting up the suspense storyline and building the tension of something happening.

This book is a menage and there is definitely touching between all 3 parties. So if you are not a fan of MM aspects, then this is most likely not for you. The sex scenes in this book was explicit and so very panty-melting HOT. The chemistry between this triad is sizzling and this extends to the bedroom.

Overall, the read was a bit of a slog for me and slightly missed the mark. If the conversation in all of Sam JD Hunt’s books are formatted this way, I am not sure if this author is right for me. If this is not an issue for you, then if you want a HOT menage with elements of suspense – check this book out.

Amazon → http://amzn.to/1TES1WS

 Raging Kane by CM Steele

 

Raging KaneIf you are a reader who loves short, dirty and to the point with a liberal dose of SMUT – then you need to read this book.

Raging Kane is an erotic paranormal romance that boasts instalove, unrealistic scenario’s, an over the top alpha that is obsessive which turns to outrageous possessiveness, a female that is helpless to fight her attraction and gives in straight away and lots and lots of explicit sex on just about every other page.

Now that you have been warned, CM Steele’s delivery of this story is fast flowing and very easy to read. She is a master at turning you on and making you grateful that she has done it.

This book is a paranormal with the main male character the alpha wolf shifter of his pack. That being said though, other than a couple of instances where he shifts, there is not really any other paranormal activity.

If your guilty pleasure is smutty books that get you in the mood for either self gratification or seeking your significant other – then this book will satisfy you.

CM Steele is cemented as an auto one-click of mine.

Amazon → http://amzn.to/1QPW0xl

Leave a Reply

