REVIEW: Sweet Obsession by J Daniels

Sweet Obsession Ebook Cover

Title: Sweet Obsession

Series: Sweet Addiction #3

Author: J. Daniels

Genre: Contemporary/Erotic Romance

Release Date: September 22, 2015

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25709854-sweet-obsession

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1L23e0k

Review

5 flames

If you are looking for a read that combines the perfect blend of sweet nothings, sassy comebacks, witty inner dialogue, a hot Aussie Alpha, a take charge female and extremely hot, toe curling scenes, then Sweet Obsessions is without a doubt the book for you.

I was in love with this book from the very first pages and it didn’t let me out of it’s grip until the very last one. I have a bona-fide girl crush on one Brooke Wicks. I knew that I wasn’t going anywhere until this book was finished when I read this bit of gold in the first few pages..

“Go Brooke. Wreck those penises.”

If you have followed both of J Daniels series to date, you would know exactly who Brooke and Mason are (don’t worry – this can be read as a standalone if you haven’t). But if not, Brooke is the baby sister to Juls – Dylan’s best friend in the Sweet series. She is seen by everyone as a bit of a slacker, irresponsible and very on the wild side with her sexuality. She owns who she is and is never apologetic. She has enough sass to bring grown men to their knees and has absolutely no desire to settle down like those around her.

Mason on the other hand has moved to Chicago from Alabama to follow his dream. Setting up shop for himself with his Yoga studio he is not out looking or expecting to find anyone. But when Brooke literally comes rushing into his life like a sexual whirlwind, he knows that he must have her, just not in the way that she is expecting.

But how does he convince the girl who is just after a good time to consider more? And with him after making it blatantly clear that she only wants him for one thing only – a good time. Can Mason tame Brooke enough to make her see there is more to life than just sex and a fleeting but good time? Or will his quest for a happily ever after with her just explode in his face?

I know that I can’t adequately put into words how much I really, really loved this book. All I really want to say is “GAH – this book is so awesome, please, please, please pick it up and read it. I know that you will enjoy it.” Oh, how I wish…..

Brooke has officially taken the pole position as my number 1 favorite female character. The quick retorts, awesome inner dialog, and the unrepenting way that she was just herself and unapologetic about it, made this book for me. The amount of times that I was literally laughing out loud because of what came out of her mouth were numerous. I have to say that she was committed to her way of thinking, even when it was becoming obvious to everyone else around her that things were different with Mason.

And Mason King. What can I say other than he is one swoon worthy, hot Aussie – really the best kind of man around (and yes I am biased because I am an Aussie). I loved that he wanted more, even when everything was being offered to him on a silver platter. There is nothing sexier than a man with a conviction that is willing to play it out until the end. But that did not stop him from being a little sexy and dirty along the way. The words that came out of his mouth were just sinful at times.

As an Aussie, the one condition that J Daniels pointed out was my incessant use of the word “Yeah”. It wasn’t until I read it over and over again that I realised I suffered this verbal overuse of a singular word..only of someone thought it was cute on me instead of just the slang way I speak.

J Daniels is an absolute master at the build up. Throughout the entire “foreplay” period between this pair, J build the tension until it was as thin as a highwire and about the snap. You could literally feel it as if it was a living, breathing entity around this pair. Actually, after reading every one of her books, I am going to say that she did this expertly in her true trademark style. She is the queen of anticipation. So it is no stretch of the imagination that when Brooke & Mason finally collided it was combustive and explosive. And man was it HOT! PANTY MELTING HOT!

There were so many great one liners in this book that I wish I could share them all with you, but I really think that you need just a little taste of some of the GOLD that J Daniels deposited throughout this book….

Brooke – “A mirage, that’s what this is. I’m not standing in the bakery, on the verge of licking the window like some mental patient…” “Hello! Massive erect!0n! Get back here! I’m supposed to be handling you!” & “There is something extremely satisfying about supplying Mason with another spank-bank image..”

Mason – “Brooke, do you have any idea how desperate I was to know you? To spend time together when all this started between us? That hasn’t changed. I’m quite obsessed with you, if you haven’t noticed…”

But despite all my love for Brooke & Mason, the best line of the book goes to the one and only Joey – “God, I am fcking fabulous. Someone should really write a book about me.” Enough said really.

While I have really, really enjoyed every J Daniels book to date, I absolutely ADORED & LOVED this book. Without a doubt J Daniels hit her groove from word 1 and didn’t let up. The storyline was so well written and engaging that you didn’t realise you were flying through the pages. I recommend this book to everyone who is a lover of romance and sexy scenes.

I literally can’t wait for more from J Daniels.

Purchase Sweet Obsession

Synopsis

***Author’s note*** Sweet Obsession can be read as a standalone novel.

Everyone knows Brooke Wicks loves to have a good time. She’s not interested in getting serious, settling down, or limiting herself to one man. So when she meets the sexy, irresistible Mason King, she sees another opportunity to let loose and go wild. But the gorgeous Aussie isn’t interested in just a quick fling with Brooke, and if she wants to get into his bed, she’s going to have to do it on his terms.

Loving fast and hard has always been Mason’s philosophy. He doesn’t want a meaningless connection, he wants it all, and he wants it with Brooke. When she makes her one desire known—to hit it and quit it—Mason wages a plan to ensure Brooke keeps coming back for more. Or so he hopes.

Getting her attention was the easy part. Keeping it might be damn near impossible.

Sweet Obsession is where the Sweet Addiction series meets the Alabama Summer series.

Teasers

Teaser 1 Teaser 2 Teaser 3

Leave a Reply

