REVIEW: Fear Us by B.B. Reid

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00037]

Title: Fear Us

Series: Broken Love, Book 3

Author: B.B. Reid

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: 22 September 2015

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25537669-fear-us

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1KrQegW

Review

5 flames

Wow, just WOW! If there is one thing that you should know about BB Reid, it’s that she can bring to life a tortured anti-hero like no other. First she gave us Keiran and although I wasn’t expecting it, we now have Keenan wearing the same crown. This book was nothing like what I was expecting but ended up being everything that I hoped for. BB brought Keenan to the front and centre in the only way she knew how – dark and seemingly beyond redemption. I freaking loved this book. Like all her books, this is not an easy read at times, but it delivers on it’s promise of captivating you from the beginning.

Before you even start this book there is this short note from BB to Keenan. It most likely should have prepared me for what I was about to read, but of course not. Readers of this story will know and understand the background between Keenan and Sheldon. It is no secret the trials that they have both been through. It has without a doubt changed the both of them, and this story picks up 4 years after everything went down.

Those 4 years have changed both Sheldon & Keenan from the young and in love teenagers that they were. When Keenan ran away from everything that was plaguing him, he created a life in which he answered to no-one and tried to forget the demons that were chased him, especially Sheldon, the one person that he thought would always be there for him. Through the years, Keenan has morphed into something that is unrecognisable from the boy that he was. He vowed never to return – until he did.

Sheldon thought that she would never see Keenan again. She had been doing a pretty good job of surviving him over the years. She had moved on with her life and was now working towards being a better person. A person that would move from being a statistic to self sufficient, no matter what challenges she faced. What she was not counting was Keenan returning. She knew his return meant that her life would be turned upside down once again. She was not ready for the man that had replaced the boy that she loved all those years. Will she be able to survive the monster that he has become?

Holy Sh!t. This book was unputdownable. I feel like I have been waiting forever to read Sheldon & Keenan’s story. But I do need to warn you. This is not a hearts and flowers kinda book. It is a book that pushes the boundaries of all normal human behaviour. It definitely blurs the lines human decency – but I loved every freaking second of it.

I would not describe Keenan as obsessed with Sheldon. Rather I would describe his actions throughout this book as being motivated by possession. He truly believes that he owns Sheldon and she should just accept it. No longer is there sweet words of endearment and loving gestures. All of his actions are fueled by nothing other than hate and his warped and twisted sense of revenge. Revenge against the way that she discarded him when he felt that he needed her the most. Without a doubt it was hard to find any glimpse of the boy that he was. He did have moments where he questioned his motives and the set of morals that led his new life. It was through these glimpse’s that gave hope that the old Keenan was in there somewhere trying to break into the light.

Many would question how Sheldon could react to the new Keenan the way that she did. It was obvious that she still held out hope that she could reclaim the boy that she used to love. It was evident throughout the book that she battled with herself and what she was giving into, all in the name of hope.

Without a doubt this book gives a new meaning to hate s3x. It was evident that the chemistry that had always bound Sheldon and Keenan to each other was still there, so when they did eventually succumb to each other it was explosive. And so unbelievably hot that I felt that might kindle might spontaneously combust as well. At this point, I do feel like I need to warn that if you have triggers some of these scenes might skirt the borders a little bit.

As always, the storyline was amazing and combined so much suspense and action that complimented the tension and angst of the relationship between these two characters. It was fast paced and well written that you were always kept in a constant state of wanting to know what will happen next.

If you like your romances on the dark side of sensible, with what can only be described as an anti-hero and a faced paced storyline then this book (and entire) series is definitely for you. You will be drawn in and rooting for the “bad guy” before you know it. A truly amazing book.

Purchase Fear Us

Synopsis

KEENAN

It’s been four years since I ran away—from home, my brother, and my maybe father. I created a life free of expectations while pretending I wasn’t being hunted by all of the above. I managed to stay under the radar all this time… or so I thought. When big brother shows up and saves my ass, I’m forced to face everything I left behind, including her.

SHELDON

It’s been four years since I became another statistic. I made a lot of mistakes when it came to Keenan Masters. The first was loving him at all. He took something from me the night he left, and when I told him I still loved him, he told me he’d always hate me. After that, I learned how to be okay… until he came back. Gone was the boy who always knew how to make me laugh, and in his place was a cold, arrogant monster.

Leave a Reply

