EXCERPT: Roughing by Paige Matthews

Roughing by Paige MatthewsGenre: Erotica

EXCERPT

Me: You want to talk?

Colin: Yes.

Me: Deal with your fuck buddy and maybe I’ll give you a chance to talk.

Colin: What the fuck she do now?

Me: Ask her. I don’t have time to rehash her temper tantrum.

Colin: WTF?

Me: IDK. Figure it out. Good Day, Mr. Hunt.

I shut my computer down and grabbed my purse. I wanted to head home and nap for an hour or so. I tried to call Mackenzie, but she didn’t pick up her work line. I rode the elevator to the lobby. Stepping off, I noticed him waiting for me.

“Jesus, you’re like an STD that I can’t get rid of. What the hell do you want?” I asked, rolling my eyes as I continued walking toward the doors.

“You told me you’d talk to me if I handled her, so I handled her.”

“I’m sure you didn’t, but I’m going to ask anyway. Oh, Colin, how did you handle little sugar lips upstairs?” I rolled my eyes again.

“Well, Miss Jealous, I sent her a message telling her there was no longer an us, hadn’t been, and never will be. I also reminded her about the non-disclosure she signed,” he smiled and shrugged, all at the same time.

I stopped mid stride. “You had a girl sign a non-disclosure agreement? Who are you, Mr. Grey?”

“Who’s that?” he asked.

“Come on, you know. The character from that majorly popular, but horrific book…they just made it into a movie.”

“Nope.” He shook his head.

“Anyway, he had the other character sign a non-disclosure about him being kinky.”

“He did?”

“Yup. Anyway, why did you wait around?” I asked, finally making it outside.

“You said you wanted to talk. So I waited.”

“How did you know I was leaving?” I asked.

“Good guess when Amber said you’d left the office.”

I shook my head.

“Fucking twit. I’m actually on my way home for a quick nap. I have to be back here a little before five.”

He looked at his watch. “You live close enough that a half an hour nap is in order?” A smile grew over his face.

“Don’t even think about it. What happened earlier in my office can’t happen again. But for your information, I live about ten minutes from here.” I looked at my phone. Fuck, it was already three-thirty. “But don’t think I’ll get anything in now.”

“I can get something in.”

“I don’t think so, Mr. Hunt. If you excuse me, I’m running home to change and get ready.”

“I like the idea of watching you change.” A cocky smile played on his face.

“Again, no.”

Colin grabbed my arm, and the contact had my body on fire. It didn’t matter how hard I fought us, there was always the betrayal of hormones, and the need to get laid.

“Sugar, you can’t deny us forever. You have to let me explain.”

“You and Mac keep saying that, but I’m not ready to reopen old wounds.”

Who the hell was I kidding? Him being anywhere near me opened the wounds, but if I didn’t think about it, just let my hormones lead the way, I was alright. Not perfect, but in control enough to handle it. Yet, the minute I started thinking about what happened, how he’d hurt me, I felt like breaking down again.

“Listen, I’ve got to go. Goodbye, Colin.” I pulled my arm from his grasp and hailed a cab. By some luck of the draw, I didn’t have to wait long. I climbed in and shut the door, watching his face as the car pulled away.

Purchase Roughing

Teaser

Roughing Teaser

Read full spotlight in Issue #7 of Redhot Romance

Leave a Reply

