Random & Rare by Cat Porter

Random and Rare by Cat Porter

Book: Random & Rare

Author: Cat Porter

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Heat Level: Explicit

Series: Lock & Key, Book 2

Review

5 flames

Wow…this book is beyond amazing. Cat Porter is a true talent. Random & Rare is a tale of 2 love stories. One that we know is tragic and destined to die and the other full of hope for the future. In Lock & Key we got to experience Grace & Dig’s love from her POV. While in this book we get a very different perspective from Dig. You also get the continuation of Grace & Miller’s love and journey. I made a massive call with Lock & Key and I continue to stand by it. These are 2 of the best MC books I have read. Cat is an absolute master at writing soul searching, punchy dialogue that hooks you into the story and keeps you glued to the book until it ends.

Like Lock & Key, this is a book of 2 tales, one in the past and one in the present.

Dig has not had a life that has been easy. He is haunted by tragedy and it dictates so much of his life, actions and especially his beliefs. Part of a notorious MC, One-Eyed Jacks, he has lived most of his adult life by the biker code. Despite this, he always tried to do what he thought was right. It was for this very reason that he tried to stay away from Grace. We all know what happened and how it turned out from Lock & Key. But what I loved about this retelling from Dig’s perspective was how much he truly loved Grace, which got lost a bit in translation when told by Grace in book 1.

There were moments where that rough and tumble biker made my heart swoon.

“Grace. Perfect. A secret wish or hope. Something poetic, elusive.”

And the moment that he was honest with Grace about what meeting her and being with her meant so was beautifully poignant.

“Then I met you, and that kind of crazy wasn’t necessary anymore, but you were. You were another kind of necessary. Wanted you for myself. When I had no right to that sort of life and no right to pull you into my shit. But I did….but you showed up at theclub that night and tilted my world upside down, broke the axis I had in place, broke it in fucking two.”

And this is why Dig is one of my favorite type of anti-heros. A man of violence and his own rules loving a woman that is meant just for him, like the treasure that she is.

When the book switches back to the present it once again becomes about Grace and Miller’s love.

What I truly loved about this story was the way in which Grace was finally able to reconcile her past with what was happening in the present. It was through this growth that she finally found the peace and acceptance that had been missing for so long. It freed her from the baggage of the past to fully enbrace the future.

“That piece of my heart that was Dig sang in my chest bursting there.
Thank you, Dig. Thank you. Rest, my love. Be at peace. It’s all good. So very good.”

While there were moments of real heat and passion between Grace and both of her loves throughout this book, it was only ever used to compliment the storyline – not placed in because it needed to be like so many other books out there.

I loved this journey of coming full circle. I loved the words of Cat’s that took me on the journey. I loved the depiction of real emotions, demons and ultimately love. I recommend this MC read to everyone thay loves romance with a touchy of gruff and grittiness. It will leave you thinking about it for days after. Can’t wait for the next bikers from Cat.

Synopsis

Two men who love the same woman.
A different love,
at a different time.
An end that marks a new journey.
And now, a new beginning
in a wholly unexpected way.
One man’s love prevails beyond a lifetime and propels everyone in its wake forward.

“I am that gash in her soul.
Once I loved her, really loved her.
And she loved me, and it was so fucking beautiful.
Once.
That pendulum swings to and fro.
We’re here,
and then we’re—
No.
How can that rare beautiful be rendered irrelevant, intangible when I still feel so damn much?
Does all that energy, that glory, that significance simply dissolve?
Turn to smoke?
To nothing?
It can’t. It just can’t.
Are the moments that shape us absolutely random?
Is time not fluid?
I made promises to them, to her.
Especially to her.
Promises I still burn to keep.”

“Random & Rare” is the sequel to “Lock & Key”, book 1 of the Lock & Key Series. Book 1 must be read first. This is a contemporary motorcycle club romance novel

This book contains adult language, sex, violence and is intended for mature audiences.

Purchase Random & Rare

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

