His Pawn by Willa Thorne

Series: Manhattan Tales, Book One

Genre: Contemporary Romance, Erotica

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25263738-his-pawn

Blurb

The plan seemed simple. I’d use her every which way, and then send her back to her brother with a clear message: You had your fun, and I had mine. Little did I know that I’d fall for her…

Meet Mason Woodward, a British Billionaire, who manages his father’s company in Manhattan, New York. He’s handsome, wealthy, has a filthy mind, and knows how to get what he wants. At one time, he knew what it meant to care about other people- until he found his best friend, Travis Pryor, in bed with the woman he intended to marry. Now, Mason has a plan for payback that involves Jillian, the younger sister of Travis. He’ll hook and reel her in.

“If Travis can take the love of my life, then I’ll take his little sister.”
The plan seemed solid, until she got under his skin and began to challenge everything he was thinking…

This book is for readers age 18+ for language and sexual content. The complete story will be available in August, 2015.

Review

4 flames

I love finding new authors. When I read the blurb for this book, I knew straight away that I needed to read it. A book based on revenge against those that hurt you in the past is right up my alley. The amazing execution of this story drew me in and kept me turning page after page until the very last word.

Jillian is down and out of luck. She had just been fired from the job that kept her in accommodation and college. With no family around to help and no money to be able to help herself, she is desperate. It is from this utter desperation that she places a call to Mason, her brothers ex-best friend and a man that walked out of her life with no explanation after he feel out with her brother many years ago. He was there when she needed help in the past and she can only hope that some lingering feelings are still around in her time of need now.

Mason can’t believe it when he gets a plea for help from his ex-best friends little sister. For many years he has carried anger towards Travis after he slept with his girlfriend, ruining their friendship beyond repair. He has had nothing to do with Jillian in the years since the fallout but she presents the perfect opportunity to get revenge on Travis by using his sister.

When Mason proposes a contract of sorts with Jillian, Jillian thinks that she has found the solution to her many problems, and after all, it’s only 3 months. But she doesn’t know that Mason has plans to destroy her in his little game of revenge against her brother. What is not expected is how Jillian gets under Mason’s skin and little does he realise that the rules of the game have changed unexpectedly. But how is Jillian expected to come out unscathed when she doesn’t even realise that she is a player? Can Mason carry through and destroy the unsuspecting lives in his path to revenge? Or will it all change the longer he is involved with Jillian?

Jillian was an awesome character. There is something so endearing about a character that is willing to put her trust into someone without any pause. I am a sucker for an unrequited crush. I love when the character is finally able to experience what they had been pining for. I did feel sorry for her that she did not know how she was being used. But as she grew into her character she became more self assured.

I love a dirty talking, dominant, alpha male. Throw in a sexy British accent and you’ve got me. Mason delivered on so many levels. While his intentions started in one direction it was intriguing to live through his conflict once he realised that the rules had changed, and perhaps the shoe was now on the other foot and he was at Jillian’s mercy.

Man this was one hot read. There were scenes throughout this book that made me glad that I was reading this book in private. I am sure that my face was flushed several times. The explosiveness created by Ms Thorne was off the charts hot.

But even though there was a lot of intimate scenes in this book, the base storyline of revenge was not lost. It carried heavily throughout the book and kept me wanting to know what happens next. Be warned, there is a cliffhanger, but as I write this review, book 2 is currently available.

I don’t think that you will be disappointed in this book if you love alpha males, hot scenes and a strong story line. I recommend this to all readers of romance who like a side of smut. Books like this is why I love the Indie community – always gems to be found!

**I purchased a copy of this book**

Purchase His Pawn

Leave a Reply

