Obliterate by Autumn Grey

Series: Havoc, Book 2

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22883564-obliterate

Blurb

“I knew the moment I gave in to pursuing Selene that trouble would follow me. It always does. I should have resisted.”

Remington St. Germain is at a crossroads. He can either go after the one person who makes him feel as if he matters—the only person to ever calm the demons that roam his mind—or forget about her. The latter is not an option, even though there is a chance she might reject him. But, damn it all to hell, he will convince her. He has to. Otherwise, he will be right back where he was before she came into his life.

Selene Michaels’ stay in Paris is only temporary. She shouldn’t get too attached to Remington and his son, Adrien. But, Remington makes her feel alive and reckless, and Adrien makes her loss almost bearable. They complete her. She has a feeling there is more to Remington than a doting single father and her overprotective Prince Charming. Besides, the risk of being with them still looms closeby and she will do anything to keep them safe.

Sometimes life gives you a second chance. But what happens when danger threatens that chance?

Review

4 flames

“We stayed like this, two souls locked in a bubble of intimacy. It was as though the demons that roamed our minds recognized each other, and instead of stoking the fire that caused them to burn, they stroked them, silencing them, calming them.”

I totally gave my heart away in this book. And believe it or not, it wasn’t to the highly sexy, dominant, dirty talking, loving gentleman of this book (even though I do love him as well). No, it was to an adorable 5 year old that melted my heart.

The innocence of Adrien, Remington’s son, highlighted what love really is and brought that to the forefront in this book. I hate to give spoilers so I am going to be a bit vague but there is one scene in this book that broke me. Autumn could not have captured the love, conflict or tension more beautifully. It was this one scene that cemented Autumn as a literary favourite for me!

Now that’s out of the way, I really was not expecting the direction that this book took. As well as being a journey of discovery of love again for both Selene and Remington, it also became a suspense. And I have to admit that I do like my romance with a touch of drama.

The suspense element had me guessing and on edge of what was going to happen next for the entire book. But it was through this turmoil that we really discovered Remington’s true nature and feelings toward Selene. I loved that we were shown the inside thoughts and feelings for Selene. I loved the angst and tension.

Selene was confronted many times throughout this book with how her past feelings shaped who she was. That she was able to overcome these and accept Remington’s affection and trust in what they were building was awesome.

And don’t get me wrong. This book was as explosive as the first one. I literally thought that I would burst into flames with the heat level at times. Autumn sure can capture these scenes!

The one thing that I have to say about this book is that it made me feel. And man did I go through the range of emotions from my heart bursting with joy and love to my heart being in my throat to my panties nearly melting to angst and tension and utter devastation. I loved every second of it.

And because this is a series there is a massive cliffhanger at the end of this book. This one left me reeling and eager for what happened next. But you won’t be disappointed, so don’t let this stop you from reading.

I can’t wait for more and hopefully Selene and Remington get their HEA. Recommended for all lovers of romance.

**I purchased a copy of this book**

Purchase Obliterate

Leave a Reply

