Interference by Paige Matthews

Series: In The Zone, Book One

Genre: Erotica, Contemporary Romance

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25275211-interference

Blurb

Jessica
Twelve years ago I lost everything I loved. I lost the ability to play the one sport that I had given every sweat and tear to. A career ending injury and a three-day coma left me hearing the words a player never wants to hear.

Since that day, I have made it my goal to break into the one world a female hasn’t entered yet: The NHL and specifically- Head Athletic Trainer. Finally getting my chance to prove myself I will not let anything or anyone stand in my way of my new dreams…until he shatters every ounce of control that I’ve hidden behind for years.

His arrogance, his determination and his god damn near perfect body set my body on fire. The more I try to stay away, the more I am drawn to him and the one night I give him- I lose.

Micah
I value nothing more than dominating on and off the ice. Nothing can deter my focus or my attention from taking my chance to prove to the world that I can capture the ultimate goal: the Stanley Cup. Coming off a heartbreaking loss in last year’s finals, the new season is full of promise and records. Until she walks in…

The newest Athletic Trainer of the NY Hawks and sister of my biggest rival, Jessica McAdams sets my body on fire: a response I haven’t felt in a long time. From the first time I saw her at the club and heard her name mentioned around the locker room, I was taken.

I could see through her walls, the false defenses she put up. She tries to pretend she is a stone cold and in charge woman, but I see the promise of what is underneath. As much as she pushes me away, the more I come to desire her, need her and want to dominate her. What starts as a mission to dominate the rough exterior becomes something I can’t live without and she becomes the one thing I need more in my life than anything else, even if she doesn’t want me back.

Review

3 flames

3.5 flames

When I came across this book and saw that it combined two things I love – sport and smut I one clicked pretty fast. I had not heard of Paige Matthews prior to seeing this book so I did not really know what to expect.

After a career ending injury sidelined Jess McAdams from playing the sport that she loves professionally, she decides to take the bull by the horns and find a way to stay involved. After years of hard work and determination, she finally breaks through all the sterotypes and becomes the first female Head Trainer with the Hawks NHL team.

This lands her directly in the path of Micah Matthews, the Hawks goalkeeper. Whilst Micah is not impressed with having to follow the orders of a female, he comes to her defence in front of the team. But he knows something that she doesn’t. He knows that they are both actively involved in the BDSM lifestyle.

What happens when sparks fly between a take charge, dominant male and a woman who believes that she is a take charge and dominant as well? Can he get her to submit? Or is the sparks destined to fizzle?

While this is a solid read, I think that what let this book down for me mostly was that I felt Jess was a little too over the top at times. I understand that author was trying to portray her as a strong female who doesn’t let anything stop her from achieving what she wants but it was when she was procrastinating about Micah that I felt her actions didn’t gel with with the character that had been portrayed.

Micah is typical of a dominant jock. Arrogant and overly self confident. He believed in what he wanted and setout to get it. I loved his protective side throughout this book, it made the core of his character likeable.

Yes, the kink and steamy scenes in this book were explosive. The chemistry between the pair was undeniable and I definitely got hot around the collar several times throughout the book.

The only other thing that I really wished was that we got a bit more with some of the supporting characters. I know that they have their their own books but I would have loved just a bit more. Also, there were a few times where I felt the story was a bit rushed after being told weeks had passed.

Overall, I think that this was a solid, easy read. It did delievered what it promised, which was a smutty, sports read. If you are looking for a read that will give you a bit of everything, then this is for you. I am curious about the other characters, so there is a good chance I will read another book by this author.

**I purchased a copy of this book**

Leave a Reply

