Fear Me by BB Reid

Series: Book 1:Broken Love

Genre: New Adult

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24935412-fear-me

Blurb

I don’t believe in fairy tales and Prince Charming.

I believe in fear.

He taught me how to be afraid.

We first met on a playground on a wonderful summer day. It was the first time he hurt me and it wouldn’t be the last. For ten years, he’s been my tormentor and I’ve been his forbidden. But then he went away, and yet I was still afraid.

Now he’s back and wants more than just my tears. You see…he thinks I sent him away so now he wants revenge…and he knows just how to get it.

PLEASE READ THE WARNINGS. This book is a new adult and contains rough elements such as harsh language, mild violence, strong sexual content, alpha male, antihero, blackmail, and dubious consent.

Fear Me, in all, contains sensitive themes many people aren’t able to swallow.

***

RE-EDITED Version of Fear Me as of May 25th, 2015

NOTE: If you purchased Fear Me prior to 05/25/15 and would like to read the latest version, you will need to contact the Customer Support of the appropriate platform for them to push the New Re-Edited File to your device. I apologize for any inconvenience.

Review

4 flames

I don’t read very many books where the main characters are still in high school. It’s not that I have anything against it per say, just that I feel I am a bit old for this age group. So I had some trepidations going into this book, but the blurb caught me and I saw so many recommendations that I decided to take the plunge. I have to say that the risk definitely paid off.

Since she was 7, Lake has been relentlessly bullied by Keiran. And I don’t mean just verbally, and that is pretty bad, but also physically intimidated. From their very first encounter, Keiran’s behaviour towards her has been atrocious.

Lake has lived her life in constant fear and outlook for the last year of high school is no better and actually could work out worse for her. Reason being – Keiran is returning from spending time in Juvie. A place that he, and those around him, firmly believes he ended up because he was setup by none other than Lake. Lake knows that she didn’t, but that is of little consequence to Keiran. So begins what she believes will be another year of hell.

I hate giving away major plot points but what develops between Lake and Keiran is nothing short of explosive. Their relationship is built on a foundation of hate (which is just as strong an emotion as love) and this seeps through every encounter between the pair. Their coming together is volatile in every sense of the word.

Keiran can only be best described as the epitome of an anti-hero. He is dominant in his personality and unrepentant in his actions. His treatment and behaviour towards Lake is at times unforgiving. Again, I don’t want to give too much away but you do learn why he is like this towards the end of the book.

I am not really sure what to say about Lake other than her ability to be able to survive the torment is inspiring. She is able to come through her torment on the other side still retaining a lot of her sense of self.

The build up of the sexual tension between these two was off the charts. BB Reid did an amazing job of building up the emotion and angst to almost the point of overload before granting you with a spectacular explosion of heat and sexiness.

I loved the twists and turns in the storyline and the journey that I was taken on throughout the book. I was not able to put this book down and read it all in one sitting.

I must warn you that there may be triggers in this book for many people. It is not a fluffy read that makes you feel good at all times. It is edgy and at times borderlines the grey areas in life. But if you are able to look past this, I recommend that you pick up a copy of this book. I can’t wait to see what happens with Lake & Keiran in Fear You.

**I purchased a copy of this book**

Leave a Reply

